Here, There & Everywhere, Just Saying

My #Hugot From Searching The “Right One”

It has been five months since I left my job from a private company. Five months that I’m spending a lot of ink and papers for printing my resume,searching the web for job opportunities, going to interviews, and the worst part is five months without a salary… and this seriously freaking me out.

ylmf2swbaotla

This is the longest time that I became jobless and the most number of interviews that I’ve been. I am not used to getting into many interviews because I usually land on a job by recommendation. Nasanay ako na ako ang nilalapitan, hindi ako ang lumalapit (char!). So the quest feels like I’m a man wooing for a woman, that I should give the best shot to win a yes. Quite hard. And harder when impatience and frustration start to kick in. #TheStruggleIsReal

My search for the “right one” exposed me to different potential employers specifically on how they will conduct the interviews, the process of hiring and how they will respond to your application.:

First impression stage (Online vs. Eye-ball). Interview via Skype is the kind of which you can meet the interviewer without taking a bath. Haha. Just make sure that you wear something that will still look professional even if you are still in your pajamas (take it from me *wink*). Of course, it’s best to meet your potential employer by face even if you’ll get butterflies in your stomach. Just like meeting the one you like, you have to make the first impression last. Kailangan magpapogi. Some questions during the interview will be like, “Why should we not hire you?”, “Why did you left your previous job?”, or “How much is your expected salary?”. Be yourself and answer the questions with honesty.

Getting-know-each-other stage. If a woman wants to know if a man is serious about winning her heart, she will test this man. Just like the hiring process for most companies. They give series of examination to the candidates which can be a plus-points if you get a high score. It is usually a time pressured type of exam, so you got to answer as fast as you can. To focus is the key. Successful candidates in this stage would sometimes go into another interview.

The “Yes” or “No” stage. How sweet is it to get a “yes” from the woman you love? This is the same moment that job hunters like me wait for. But some employers would leave you hanging, would not call or send an e-mail if you are hired or not. Mga nang-iiwan, nakahanap na pala ng iba. Others would tell you to wait within a span of time like in one or two weeks, and in my case, my application in a government agency would take 2-3 months! Antagal mga bes. Parang paasa lang huhu. I prefer to appreciate companies that go straight to the point like PNB, they sent me an e-mail after they received my application, telling me that I’m not qualified and even suggested some procedures for me to get qualified. Kaya kang sagutin agad kung gusto ka ba o hindi, kaso hindi lahat ay ganun. Kailangan mong maghintay. Kailangan kong maghintay.

wall-white-1

I also tried my luck (for the first time) in some BPO’s and so far, they have the fastest hiring process. Basically, if you pass the initial step, you will proceed to the next until you get the job offer. You will know your exam results and they can hire you at the end of the day or reject you immediately. So you will get closure and move on to your next plan. Much better, right? Hindi ka na paaasahin pa. Oo o Hindi lang, tapos na. Pero puede kang bumalik kapag ready ka na. 

Pero masakit pala mabasted… ng employer. Lalo na if not just once, not twice, but paulit-ulit.

As of this writing, I’m still in search and waiting for the “right one” to come. And just like a man who do his best efforts to win a woman, I’m sure I would get that precious “yes” on the right time. I’m sure it would be worth the wait. At handa akong ibigay ang lahat para sa kanya. 🙂

*****

UPDATE:

… And someone said, “YES!”

My application in the government agency that I am in now took seven months before I got hired. I started here last May 22 (I applied October 2016). Antagal diba? But I must tell you, that my work is truly worth the wait. I’ve been praying for this and I’m enjoying it now. Less stress, less fare (with just P16 back-and-forth), less travel time (15 minutes away from home), more opportunities to learn and more benefits! 🙂

Leave a comment