When I was in college, there was a time that I have been deprived of the chance to learn because of a stupid reason: That I am ugly.

And that is what I call “beauty discrimination”.

As a freshman in Chemical Engineering, we seek the help of upper classmen to teach us. So there I was one day at the library with my classmate, approached someone in his senior year and asked if he could teach us in one of our subjects. To my surprise, he declined and I heard him say, “Ba’t ko naman tuturuan yan di naman maganda” (why would I teach her? She’s not beautiful).
Of course, he was referring to me because my classmate is indeed pretty and I knew he had a crush on her. I did not react nor did I said anything. I just left the library.

When I think of it now, I guess he was right  but somewhat wrong then. He was right because that time, I looked like a boy-under-the-next-door. I had a pixie haircut, I don’t put make-up or powder on my face, and I prefer to wear t-shirts and jeans during wash days. Physically, I am not a head turner (even today) so I cannot blame him for blurting out such words.

On the other hand, he was wrong on the way he treated me. He’s unfair.Yes, I don’t look beautiful to his eyes but I was there to learn not to be discriminated. And everyone deserves to learn whatever physical imperfections they have.

What our eyes can see are only limited on what are visible. It can easily see what is big and what is small. It can distinguish what is black and what is white. It can immediately describe who is beautiful and who is not. But can it see kindness? Can it see trust or loyalty? Can it see what does a person feels? Can it see love? Can it see the air? No, it can’t. The eyes are incapable of seeing the invisible things including what’s inside a person’s heart.

Our heart is given to see and feel what the eyes can’t. That is why we knew what is kindness, what is trust, what is loyalty, what is anger, what is love. We knew that there is air because we breath it and we feel it.

Beauty, as  describe on 1 Peter 3:3-4 ..”should not be an external one, consisting of braided hair or the wearing of gold ornaments and dresses. Instead, it should be the inner disposition of the heart, consisting in the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which God values greatly.”

And that concludes my story.

Posted from WordPress for Android

